Betta Fish Center

Betta requirements

This forum is for any topics that fall outside of the forum categories.

Moderator: BettaDiver

Betta requirements

Postby NativeNuYorker » Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:57 pm

Are filters and heaters absolutely required for Betta's? I realize now the staff at the pet stores are not necessarily knowledgeable. The few that I have consulted claim that it's not necessary for Betta's to have heaters and that they actually do not like filters. They suggest weekly 100% water changes, which I have been doing. When I read these forums though, very experienced Betta owners state that Betta's need the same care as tropical fish. What's actually true?
NativeNuYorker

Re: Betta requirements

Postby justmelsbettas » Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:00 pm

Hi, even among experienced breeders you will find varied opinion on what a bettas really needs. I'm not experienced myself. I probably got my first betta around 6 months ago, but he quickly multiplied. I've done a lot of research to try and give all my bettas the best care I can. I've found the it's generally advised to have not less then 2.5 gallon per betta, they DO need a heater and to be kept at a steady temp between 78°-82°, they also need a lid or to have the water kept below the edge of the tank to prevent jumping.

Your tank size and if it has a filter or not would determine how often you needed to do water changes. Advise on this varies a lot too, but what I've found suggests anything smaller then 10 gallons does not need a filter but needs 2-3 water changes a week (testing water parameters would help you decide how often it really needs changed). A filter is not needed, but it can help keep the tank cleaner. A sponge filter is often suggested for betta fish. They do not cause a strong current, but still help keep things clean. You'll find that some bettas actually enjoy their regular filters & the current though. You do have to be careful because some filters can suck a bettas fins in and hurt them.