Betta Fish Center

New betta owner

If this is your first time here please visit this forum and tell us a little about you and your betta.

Moderator: BettaDiver

New betta owner

Postby Suki » Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:29 am

Hi, I'm new to freshwater aquariums and betta fish. I bought my fish on a whim for my cat as she loves my aquarium screen saver.
Well, my blue betta Kenji, is now MY fish and I am obsessed with giving him the best home and care possible!
The pet store employee told me the half gallon tank I initially purchased was TOO big for Kenji. I now know better and I am cycling a 5 gallon tank for him while he waits in his small bowl :cry: .
So far, he is healthy, active and eating well but I know that he needs a bigger tank to live a long and healthy life. I test his water daily, do slow 25% water changes daily and his bowl temp is stable at 76 degrees. His new tank has a power filter with adjustable flow and a heater. I can't move him in yet as his new tank is still cycling and going through nitrite spikes.
This is my question:
My tap water is RO! With chloramine added in. This is the water purification process my small community uses as our main water source is a near by river which is brackish. This complicates everything. GH and KH near zero and pH is 6.3.
My house also has an RO system (redundant, I know). So I use this water for my aquarium as it has no chloramine. I add Prime to detox any ammonia in his tank that accumulates during day and Kent RO Right to raise the GH and remineralize the water, which raises the GH to 2 (about 25ppm) and the KH to about 3 (it's between 2 & 3). So not much buffering capacity. It was suggested adding wonder shell fragments to add calcium. The pH of his tank is 6.8.